The American Action Forum (AAF), led by former Director of the Congressional Budget Office Douglas Holtz-Eakin, proudly leads the center-right on economic, domestic, and fiscal policy issues. It combines timely analysis and modern communications strategies to promote innovative, free-market solutions to build a stronger, more prosperous future.

Since its 2009 founding, AAF has provided data-driven insight into the United States’ defining domestic policy challenges in health care, taxes, immigration, trade, labor, technology & innovation, regulations, and more. Its policy experts, both in-house and in its broad external network, analyze the issues and propose relevant solutions to engage policymakers, thought leaders, academics, media, and the general public.

AAF is an independent, nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization; it is not affiliated with or controlled by any political group. Its focus is to educate the public about the complex policy choices the country faces, and to explain as cogently and influentially as possible why solutions grounded in the center-right values that have long guided the country still represent America’s best way forward. AAF will stay neutral in elections, and by and large will leave its sister organization, the American Action Network (AAN), to engage in any appropriate direct legislative advocacy in support of the policy proposals it discusses. AAF welcomes policy ideas consistent with its center-right values from any source, regardless of party affiliation, and aims to make its educational materials available to members of the public of all political stripes.

As an organization, AAF does not take policy positions. The views expressed on this site are those of its individual policy experts.


  • Douglas Holtz-Eakin
  • Governor John R. McKernan, Jr.
    Acting Chairman, American Action Forum
  • Senator Norm Coleman
    Of Counsel, Hogan Lovells US LLP
  • James Barksdale
    Chairman and President, Barksdale Management Corporation
  • Wendy Grubbs
    Former Special Assistant, President George W. Bush
  • Bobbie Kilberg
    President, Northern Virginia Technology Council
  • Lauren Maddox
    Education Expert
  • Billy Pitts
    President, Capitol BrainTrust
  • The Honorable Michael Chertoff
    Co-Founder and Chairman, The Chertoff Group
  • Ambassador Boyden Gray
    Founding Partner, Boyden Gray & Associates